Release Day: Below (The Broken Sky Chronicles Book 1) by Jason Chabot (Review) - Bibliophile Wonderland Reviews

Tuesday, August 16, 2016

Release Day: Below (The Broken Sky Chronicles Book 1) by Jason Chabot (Review)

Below (Broken Sky Chronicles #1) 
by Jason Chabot
Purchase Links

No one but the dead dare venture Below . . .
The first volume in this thrilling trilogy opens on the barren plains of Below, where Hokk and his fox sidekick, Nym, live in exile amid the remnants of our modern age.
Overhead, on the floating islands of Above, Elia is trapped in a life of endless toil and drudgery as a laundress for the Mirrored Palace. To Elia, the islands’ edges are borders that no one dares cross until the ancient ritual that delivers the dead to Below. But a series of natural disasters rumbling through Above sends Elia’s world crashing into Hokk’s—and she falls Below.
Their journey together will propel them across endless plains and through shattered cities in a centuries-old battle for the very earth and sky around them . . .

Below is the debut novel for Author Jason Chabot. The book is a work of science fiction as well as dysotopain feel to it. If you have read Divergent and Hunger Games then you will enjoy this. 
The author thrusts you into a world that has a divided social cast and is being rules by two twin empores. Above, Below, and Exiled. In the time of the book seems that earth is thousands years int the future. Where people have been divided to live in floating island with the clouds. We meet Elia who lived in the Above but now find her self in the Below. In comes Hooka and his pet fox Nym. Elia has something in her possession that can bring down the entire kingdom. Thats is when the adventure begins. 
Honestly it took me awhile for me to get into this book. Once I finally did I could not put the book down. The plot was unique it kept my attention.Their were some moments in the book that I felt were a bit dragged like the flow of the book would slow down. Also going on in the book is the romantic element between the book main characters. At the end of reading it I was kicking myself for not reading it sooner. Beware their is a cliffhanger at the end which I anticipated since the front of the book says trilogy. Below is the first installment of The Broken Sky Trilogy. The next book to continue will be Above, which I now patiently wait for to come out. 
ARC was provided by Turner Publishing in exchange for a honest review. 
About the Author:
Jason Chabot grew up in the rural outskirts of Chilliwack, B.C., and graduated from the University of British Columbia. After over a decade as a chartered accountant, Jason now writes full-time at his home in Vancouver, where he also enjoys ballroom dancing and playing classical piano. Visit Jason online at
Social Media Links:

No comments: